Wine Maps: Hunter Valley — Australia

Wine Maps Hunter Valley: This map depicts wineries and tasting rooms within the Hunter Valley region of Australia. It is one of many maps generated to support the “Wine Regions of the World” series.

The Hunter Region is one of Australia’s well-known and historically important wine regions of New South Wales. Distinctive styles of Semillon, Chardonnay and Shiraz are the hallmark of this region. Other varieties grown include Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Riesling and Sauvignon Blanc. As with most other varieties that came to call the Hunter their home, Semillon came to the region courtesy of the original Busby collection, planted in the Sydney Botanical Gardens in 1832 by Australia’s original wine pioneer James Busby.

The region is unofficially divided into the Lower Hunter and Upper Hunter Valley with one official sub-region Broke Fordwich. The greatest concentration of vineyards is in the Lower Hunter between Cessnock and Branxton. The two main topographical features are the alluvial flats of the valleys and the gently undulating hills.

Launch Wine Regions of the World Series: Australia – Hunter Valley with Google Earth (you won’t regret it, I promise). If you don’t have Google Earth, download the latest version by clicking here. What is Google Earth? Google Earth combines the power of Google Search with satellite imagery, maps, terrain and 3D buildings to put the world’s geographic information at your fingertips.

View wine-regions-australia-hunter-valley in a larger map

Photo credit:

Looking for more wine maps? Check out the full list here.


About the Author:

Editor and co-founder of, Pamela is a sommelier and former restaurant manager and wine buyer with Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET), Court of Master Sommeliers & Center for Wine Origins certification. She has contributed to or been quoted by various publications, including the Los Angeles Times, Sommelier Journal, Vegetarian Times, VIV Magazine, UC-Berkeley Astrobiology News, The Washington Post, the Associated Press, NPR and USA Today. True to her roots, she seeks varietal and appellation integrity and is always passionate about finding the next great bottle of wine.


  1. William H July 9, 2011 at 9:50 AM - Reply

    I have been dreaming about visiting this area for years now. It’s about time I go!!

    • enobytes July 10, 2011 at 11:35 AM - Reply

      Run, don’t walk! :)

  2. sfgirlie July 10, 2011 at 5:24 PM - Reply

    Great wine map!

Leave A Comment