11 New AVAs Established in Paso Robles

11 New AVAs Established in Paso Robles

On October 9, 2014, the TTB published a final rule, T.D. TTB–125, in the Federal Register establishing 11 new American viticultural areas within the existing Paso Robles viticultural area in San Luis Obispo County, California.   The 11 new viticultural areas are: Adelaida District,
Creston District, El Pomar District, Paso Robles Estrella District, Paso Robles Geneseo District, Paso Robles Highlands District, Paso Robles Willow Creek District, San Juan Creek, San Miguel District, Santa Margarita Ranch, and Templeton Gap District. This final rule is in effect on November 10, 2014. 

Here are details on the differences between the Paso Robles AVAs.

I am not sure how I feel about establishing so many additional AVAs in Paso Robles. As I have mentioned before, sometimes I think having so much detailed information about a region confuses consumers. What do you think?

Photo credit:  Tablas Creek 


About the Author:

This post was written by the Enobytes staff. Eat Well. Drink Well. Live Well!

Leave A Comment